High Five

January 10, 2014. I walked over to the supermarket this morning to pick up a few things. I was surprised at the amount of people in there since it was 10 o’ clock in the morning. Well, it is a Friday so people are gearing up for the weekend, I suppose. There were two cash registers open. I got in the shorter of the two lines. There was a girl working the register. There was a guy working the other register. The girl scanned all my things and said, “Once con quince.” (Translation: “€11.15.”)

The guy working the other register turned around and said, “No puede ser.” (“That can’t be.”) The girl turned around and looked at his register. His register read the same: €11.15. They smiled and high fived each other. I didn’t get a good look at what the guy in the other line was buying, but I’m fairly certain we didn’t buy the exact same things. Now that would have been worthy of a high five.

When I got home I googled “high five” to see whether it was spelled “hi five” or “high five” and whether or not it was hyphenated. I came across this interesting bit of information:

“For decades, the ‘conventional wisdom’ has been that the first high five occurred between Dusty Baker and Glenn Burke of the Los Angeles Dodgers on Oct. 2, 1977 in Dodger Stadium. After retiring from baseball, Burke, who was one of the first openly homosexual professional athletes, used the high five with other homosexual residents of the Castro district of San Francisco, where for many it became a symbol of gay pride and identification.” I like that.

And this: “In the United States, there is a private initiative to celebrate the third Thursday of April as National High Five Day.” I like that, too.

high five

Actual technical drawing registered with the US patent office for a “High-Five-Machine”

Leave a Reply

